VICE on HBO is a GO

Have you ever heard of lamb-fighting? Did you know it doesn’t involve a lamb?  Oh, or did you know that parts of Indonesia use cigarettes to ‘treat’ cancer? Or did you catch that basketball game with the Harlem Globe Trotters and North Korea?   No? Well clearly you’ve never seen VICE.

Earlier this summer, on a rainy afternoon, my sister and I were fighting over what to watch on TV. She introduced me to this incredible new show called VICE.  Usually when she attempts to force my attention onto something she likes, obviously I ignore it. This time however, I could not pull my eyes away from the screen. Three episodes later I was hooked.

VICE is 30 minutes of awesomeness on HBO, and different from anything you’ve seen on television. This show is a refreshing piece of a reality, amongst other “reality” shows on your TV.  Originally a magazine, with a goal to investigate and enlighten, VICE is showin’ us what’s really going on in our world.

At least once in every episode, I found myself having to pick my jaw up off the floor. This show makes one realize how incredibly naïve we are to what is happening in other countries. By rotating four of their producers as a host and throwing them in situations we have never seen an American in before, this show becomes both gripping and entertaining. One of my favorite hosts is Thomas: a skinny nerdy white guy. And I’m pretty sure they throw him into certain situations to be ironic, and add some humor. Aside from the jokes, the subject matter presented is serious. What VICE is doing, is simply bringing awareness to material not usually presented to the public. Audiences are exposed to cultures or events you will never see on the news. Personally, I believe in this day and age, exposure to different cultures is very important in life.  (so wiseee I know…)

Vice’s season finale followed host Ryan, a few Harlem Globetrotters, and NBA star Dennis Rodman, as they travelled to North Korea for a basketball game. Perfectly normal, whatever. Setting ground in North Korea was momentous enough, but their tour given by the government was eye opening. How did they get permission to do this? Well apparently Kim Jong-Un is a huge basketball fan. Who knew right?  I’m not trying to give any spoilers, but they actualy meet Kim. Whoops I told ya.

Vice has been signed on for a second season on HBO. If you have nextflix or HBOgo, catch up and check it out. If not, start watching it next season on HBO. If you don’t have HBO, well I feel sorry for you.

http://hbo.vice.com/

Leave a Reply!

